Need some help with Intel Pro 1000 NIC setup

Status
Not open for further replies.

martin_nv

Cadet
Freenas newbie here. I switched out an old SMC network adapter that was only 100Mb and installed an Intel PRO 1000, and it does not seem to get an IP address and connect to the network. On the bootup, the text scrolling by says this:
Code:
Setting hostname: freenas.local.
Starting dhclient.
em0: no link ..... got link
em0: link state changed to UP
DHCPDISCOVER on em0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 3
DHCPDISCOVER on em0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 3
DHCPDISCOVER on em0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 7
DHCPDISCOVER on em0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 14
DHCPDISCOVER on em0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 17
No DHCPOFFERS received
No working leases in persistent database - sleeping.

The output from ifconfig in the shell is as follows:
Code:
em0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
        options=4219b<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,VLAN_HWCSUM,TS04,WOL_MAGIC,VLAN_HWTSO>
        ether 68:05:ca:3a:bd:32
        inet 0.0.0.0 netmask 0xff000000 broadcast 255.255.255.255
        nd6 options=9<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED>
        media: Ethernet autoselect (1000baseT <full-duplex>)
ipfw0: flags=8801<UP,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 65536
        nd6 options=9<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED>
lo0 flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 16384
        options=600003<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
        inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128
        inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x5
        inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
        nd6 options=21<PERFORMNUD,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
[root@freenas] ~#

To test the NIC I then boot with FreeBSD liveCD, the Intel nic works (ping test ok) BUT only after configuring the IP address manually using this command:
ifconfig em0 inet 10.10.10.90 netmask 255.255.255.0
BUT If I try to issue this command in Freenas I still cannot ping.