Need help on how to best to setup drives

Status
Not open for further replies.

Trioxide

Cadet
I am new to FreeNAS and am looking to setup a system for my home. Looking to use FreeNAS-8.0.4-RELEASE_MULTIMEDIA-p1-x64, as I would like to do utorrent, backup and perhaps iTunes. Right now for computers I have a personal computer and laptop I use. Then I have a server which has my movies on it and another computer that runs my cameras. So I figured instead of having data spread all over the place put it in one location, which makes backups easier also. Right now I am using 1.5TBs for my movies and music, which get read from often. For data I have about 50 Gb and for the cameras I need at least 250 Gb, which is written very often.

My question is on how to setup the harddrives for FreeNAS? Of course I am looking at RaidZ so I have redundency for my data, which will be backed up regularly also. I am concerned about access and speed. Should I have 3 separate drive systems for my files: 1 for data like pictures, documents, etc, 1 for movies and 1 for the cameras or can I put all on 1 and the access be fine?

Like I said I am new to this and would appreciate any suggestions. I have worked with Windows but not this system so it is all new to me. I have a Intel Core 2 4300 1.8 GHz processor and have 4 Gb Ram. I have 3-1.5TB drives in a Raid 5 for the movies and music right now. Data is on the personal computers. Thinking to purchase some 2TB drives for RaidZ1 config but do I need that for my movies or should I just go with a mirror?

Thanks

Joshua Parker Ruehlig

Hall of Famer
I'll first just tell you what I have learned that I wish I knew when starting with ZFS, then see if I can give you some suggestions.

___ATTAINED KNOWLEGDE___
*ZFS is less and more flexible then any other raid system, a zpool is a collection of vdevs (disks or mirrors or raidz), it can also have cache/log drives (usually SSDs), and spare drives (to take over when another disk fails)