Need help installing

Status
Not open for further replies.

soundblastdj

Dabbler
Hello,
I am a complete noob at Linux period. I have had a small experience with Ubuntu, but I would like to create a FreeNAS server for my house. I know that FreeNAS is supposed to be easy, but I have no idea how to create a bootable cd or flash drive for this. I would really like some help on this. I have the file, and I have tried using the MyLinuxLive USB Creator, but it doesn't understand FreeNAS. I need a solution to this, or if somebody would direct me to a place where I can buy a pre-set up install disk, I would be happy.

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Honestly, if you can't figure out how to create the boot disk using the manual instructions this probably isn't a project for you. It won't get easier(but will in fact get MUCH harder) and if you don't know what you are doing you can kiss your data goodbye suddenly without warning.

russnas

Contributor
try with windows

doc.freenas.org/index.php/Burning_an_IMG_File

soundblastdj

Dabbler
I don't have Windows, I run on a Mac based system until i get the money to buy a new computer.

- - - Updated - - -

I know what I need to do for the rest, and I am doing this mostly for the learning experience. Also, the reason that I'm having a hard time is that I have only found instructions for Windows, and I run on a Mac (with no co drive no less)

LGShepherd

Cadet
I am also in the same boat as you.

I have used Terminal to create a bootable USB, but when I plug it in to my Microserver and boot it I just get the flashing _ and it won't move on from that.

soundblastdj

Dabbler
Ok, I tried again and this time, I followed the directions to the letter, and this was the error that I got when using the dd command in terminal:
dd if=FreeNAS-8.3.1-RELEASE-p2-x64.img of=/dev/disk2 bs=64k
dd: FreeNAS-8.3.1-RELEASE-p2-x64.img: No such file or directory

- - - Updated - - -

What is wrong with the section that explains how to install?