Need Advice on First FreeNAS Build: Supermicro 6049P-E1CR36H

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello all. I am new to FreeNAS, but not new to datacenters, NAS/SAN, etc.. I have been asked to configure a FreeNAS array for enterprise. (Our O&M team is more than capable of managing a FreeNAS array, so we felt it was better to go with a FreeNAS build over a TrueNAS build.)

Below is the breakdown of the NAS build as it currently stands.

Code:
Supermicro SuperStorage Server 6049PE1CR36H 
36x SATA/SAS 
LSI 3108 12G SAS 
Dual 10Gigabit Ethernet 
1200W Redundant 

Processor 
2 x Intel® Xeon® Gold 6128 Processor 6core 3.40GHz 19.25MB Cache (115W) 

Memory 
12 x 32GB PC421300 2666MHz DDR4 ECC Registered DIMM 

Boot Drive 
2 x 128GB SATA 6.0Gb/s Disk on Module (MLC) (Vertical) 

Storage Drive 
36 x 12.0TB SAS 3.0 12.0Gb/s 7200RPM 3.5" Seagate Enterprise Capacity v7 (Helium) (512e) 

Controller Card 
Supermicro AOCS3108LH8IR SAS 3.0 12Gb/s 8port RAID Controller with 2GB Cache 

Battery Backup 
Supermicro CacheVault Module for LSI 3108 12Gb/s SAS Controller 

Network Card 
4 x Intel® 10Gigabit Ethernet Converged Network Adapter X710DA2 (2x SFP+) 

Chassis Bezels 
Supermicro System Cabinet Front Bezel MCP210846010B (Black) 

Tech Specs 

Memory Technology   DDR4 ECC Reg 
Chipset			 Intel C624 
Form Factor		 4U 
Color			   Black 
Memory Slots		16x 288pin DIMM Sockets 
Graphics			ASPEED AST2500 BMC 
Ethernet			Intel® X557 10GBaseT Ethernet Controller 
Power			   1200W Redundant Power Supplies with PMBus 
External Bays	   36x Hotswap 3.5" SAS3/SATA3 drive bays 
					2x rear Hotswap 2.5" SATA3 drive bays 
					2x Optional Onboard NVMe M.2 
M.2				 2x Optional Onboard NVMe M.2 
Expansion Slots	 3x PCIE 3.0 x16 slot 
					4x PCIE 3.0 x8 slots 

Processor 

Product Line		Xeon Scalable 
Socket			  LGA3647 
Clock Speed		 3.40 GHz 
Cores/Threads	   6C / 12T 
Virtualization	  Yes 
Hyperthreading	  Yes 
Wattage			 115W 

Memory 

Technology		  DDR4 
Type				288pin DIMM