NAS and RAID Terms

Status
Not open for further replies.

BobCochran

Contributor

Hi,

I am new to NAS and RAID and feel the need of some help with the terms I see people use in the forums. For example:

vdev
mirror
stripes ("stripes across them")
spindle ("2x 5 spindle")

I am actively reading the 8.0.3 manual, and I surf these forums a lot reading different posts to help with my education. With that said:

What is the difference between a vdev, a stripe, a spindle, and a hard drive? I'm not sure of the definitions here.

What is meant by "striping across them" when talking about adding hard drives.

When a "2x 5 spindle" is suggested, what does that mean?

Is there a book and/or website I should be reading for basics like this?

Thanks

Bob

louisk

Patron
vdev
mirror
stripes ("stripes across them")
spindle ("2x 5 spindle")

I am actively reading the 8.0.3 manual, and I surf these forums a lot reading different posts to help with my education. With that said:

What is the difference between a vdev, a stripe, a spindle, and a hard drive? I'm not sure of the definitions here.

What is meant by "striping across them" when talking about adding hard drives.

When a "2x 5 spindle" is suggested, what does that mean?

vdev is a virtual device. I believe that Sun coined the term when they released ZFS. It describes one or more physical drives in a pre-defined configuration.

mirror is a term for RAID1, where you have a pair of drives that have exactly the same data on them, and they operate as 1 drive.

stripe is when you take a chunk (say 32k) and write to a sequence of disks instead of writing to a single disk. each disk gets 32k.

spindle is another name for spinning disk (as opposed to flash/ssd)

Much of this would be detailed in ZFS documentation and/or wikipedia under RAID

kbarb

Dabbler