My Experience with Virtualizing FreeNAS (Disaster example included)

Status
Not open for further replies.

ser_rhaegar

Patron
I've been experimenting with FreeNAS for a couple months now and thought I would share my experience with virtualizing it. Anyone looking for a prime example of how virtualizing can be a disaster with a specific cause, look no further.

Background - You can skip to the disaster or cause below for a shorter read
A little bit before the new year, I decided to add some server equipment to my home lab (at the time it was only Cisco and ProCurve networking equipment). Up until now I had been using a couple Cisco 2911 routers with blades in them but they cap out at 16GB of RAM (if you can find the VLP DDR2 modules!) with 2x500GB drives. They also were limited to ESXi 5.0 (from Cisco) with no upgrade options aside from RAM.

So I picked up an HP DL160 G6, dual 4 core processor, 48GB ECC RAM. I spent a lot of time looking on the internet for suggestions on configurations with ESXi and came across a lot of examples from HardForums of AIO boxes using FreeNAS or another ZFS platform as the storage component. After trying out a few options, I ended up choosing FreeNAS for the simplicity (best GUI, simplest config, in my opinion at least).

I setup my first FreeNAS VM with a RAID card in passthrough that supported JBOD but not SMART passthrough. This worked well with 4x4TB WD Black drives, aside from the lack of SMART support. My only problem with this was the power consumption. Ridiculous power draw.

At work I switched our server platform from IBM to HP in the last year as I really like their support and IPMI platform (iLO). Compared to the IMM from IBM and the DRAC I saw on a few Dell's at work, the iLO was far superior (subjective, I know). On top of the interface and IP KVM in .NET and Java it had an iOS app for remote KVM. I can't tell you how many times the iOS app has come in handy for the servers at work.