My 2019 FreeNAS Build

stk1987

Cadet
Hey Guys, I am new to FreeNAS and I need a nice NAS server for my VM server/s. Right now i have my storage and VM server all in one and i am running out of space to put hard drives in it as well as i would like to setup a cluster for redundancy. I was looking at qnap and Synology but for a home lab and what i wonted in performance they were way out of my price rang 5k. Right now i have a SSD for my VM OS's (I am running 12 VM's) and four 4TB SAS drive running on a RAID 5 for my data drives. I also have a couple of stand-alone drives for backups, ISO's, virtual memory... For my VM software i am running vmware 6.7. The below link is the setup i am thinking about doing. I am going to use the existing four SAS drive in the NAS server. I think i am going to be using RAID-Z1. But i do have a question about RAID-Z1. Can i put 4 drives and have it configured as a RAID-Z1 then add another 4 drives to it? or do I have to rebuild the RAID-Z1 again with all 8 drives? The reason for this i would like to get the new setup up and running and move all my data over from my existing drive then put them in the new NAS server.
Note 1: I put two 10GB NIC's in there because i need one for my current VM server.
Note 2: I know the RAID card that i have doesn't support all drives in the case but its a start and the motherboard does have sata i can us if needed.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1uAFB9MDKb365eqLdM5SsOmeb-KkDbIIuEpS5pZtEkKg/edit?usp=sharing

Let me know what you guys think.

Thank you for your time,

Steve

Last edited:

Yorick

Wizard
> Can i put 4 drives and have it configured as a RAID-Z1 then add another 4 drives to it?

Not to the same vdev. You can have two vdevs in the same pool though.

> or do I have to rebuild the RAID-Z1 again with all 8 drives?

raidz1 with eight 4tb drives means you are very likely to lose your data in case of drive failure. That'd suggest raidz2