SOLVED Multiple interfaces with DHCP? [tldr; Not possible or desireable ]

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Sorry. I am still learning.

Aren't we all. Cursing and swearing my way through some ESXi kickstart wizardry involving loading some network drivers that then need to be used to properly configure the host networking. Of course that implies a reboot inbetween. But %pre has a bunch of limitations. Desperately trying to avoid having to build a custom ESXi image.

NASbox

Guru
Sorry it looks like an attack to you. I don't know the specific incident you are thinking is an attack, but reason was likely an effort to convince the poster that they should not do what they were trying to do.

Since I'm the OP that @Chris Moore replied to, I would like to add that I've always found Chris to be professional and super helpful and I didn't feel attacked.

I work in a much different environment. .... It can literally take a week when it is fast-tracked.
I just happend to reread this and I was wondering what industry your company is in?

... iX is creating an enterprise product here, and NONE of their customers would be asking for this.
I suspect the goal is to enforce best practices so FreeNAS doesn't get blamed for connectivity problems that are really poor network configuration.

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
I just happend to reread this and I was wondering what industry your company is in?
I work at a US Government agency and there are multiple departments involved (around a dozen people) between the approval and implementation of a network change request.

FreeNASftw

Contributor
It wasn't in this thread, at least one of the other threads broke down pretty quickly, it wasn't necessarily nasty, just pointless and off topic discussion and bickering. I'm not that easily offended, don't worry :)

I wrote a big long rebuttal here but have redacted it... It was just covering old ground.
Points are: