Moving from WHSv1 to FreeNAS - Newbie Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

AzJazz

Dabbler
Hi!

I have been running MS Windows Home Server (v1) for quite a few years now. I am starting to have hard drive issues on my WHS, and may be close to failure. I will need to back everything up. Since this opens up an opportunity to start fresh, and WHSv1 is totally unsupported these days, I decided to look into FreeNAS to get into the 21st Century.

Booting my existing WHSv1 box to FreeNAS 9.3.x went pretty smoothly. I know that I need to add more memory (I have 2 GB now), and I only have a single-core 2.0 GHZ Celeron processor. Everything seems to run OK right now, though - so that's a very good sign.

I don't plan on doing much exciting stuff on my NAS - Just file storage and storing daily PC backups. I may look into media streaming, but it isn't needed and may not work with my existing A/V equipment, anyways.

So, here are a few "newbie" questions:
  1. I will be upgrading my memory to at least 4GB, and try for 8GB (I think my HP EX485 only accepts non-ECC). Where will I see the "hit" if I only go with 4GB of RAM?
  2. What performance issues will I see by using the single-core 2.0 GHz Celeron processor?
  3. I have a 32 GB Sandisk USB 3.0 thumbdrive for my FreeNAS boot image. I'm assuming that I will still need to leave it inserted after booting, correct? The reason I ask is because the thumb drive gets warm, and I would think I would have better life out of it if it isn't powered 24/7/365. I'm not sure how well thumb drives are designed to handle being powered continuously.