Mirror RAIDZ Volume

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steve Lawlor

Cadet
Forgive me if this is a repeated question. I am new to FreeNAS and have been searching the forums for an answer for a while now. Maybe I am just not understanding the terms or something...

I am building a FreeNAS box with 8 hard drives. I want to set up 2 raidz volumes that each use 4 drives. I then want to mirror the 2 volumes, very similar to how an HP LeftHand SAN works. Is this possible and, is this a good idea if possible? I have read that this might be possible using replication but that seems like quite a bit more overhead than a simple mirror set. Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Nick2253

Wizard
I don't think you mean mirroring; are you talking about striping? Mirroring RAIDZx vdevs doesn't really make much sense. You already provide redundancy by using RAIDZx.

Let's step back a minute: what is your goal here? If you're trying to make a backup of your data on the same server, then I'd use replication to do it. If you're trying to make your array more robust against drive failure, I'd put all eight drive in one RAIDZ2 or Z3 vdev. If you're trying to get more performance out of your array, then I'd stripe the two RAIDZ1 vdevs.

Steve Lawlor

Cadet
Thanks for the quick reply Nick2253. My goal is to make the array more robust against drive failure and not really a backup. I am not opposed to using all 8 drives in a z3 config. I was just curious if FreeNAS supported a configuration like that. I called it a mirror because I want an exact copy, in real time, on both volumes. The way I understand striping is data is written across all drives or drive groups. Replication does not sound like it is real-time and sounds like it is a bit more overhead (although I admit I know nothing about how it works in the background). Sounds like maximum drive failure protection is best achieved with z3 then?

Nick2253

Wizard