Replacing a striped drive

Status
Not open for further replies.

my95z34

Explorer
So, I will admit, I'm very new to freenas, (2 weeks in, lol). Due to my hodgepodge of disks, I have two volumes, one mirror, and one stripe. I was wanting to replace one of the striped drives with one of higher capacity, but have been unable to find out how. I've spent the past few days searching and reading, and all guides I see are all regarding replacing drives in a mirrored pool. To clarify, the drives are all still good, none are failing, I just want to increase the capacity of the pool.

Is this possible?

Thanks in advance!

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
Not possible to replace a drive that is in a stripe. You should copy data off then rebuild the pool with the bigger drive and move your data back. I also hope your two vdevs aren't in the same pool. If they are and you lose one disk you will lose everything.

danb35

Hall of Famer
As @SweetAndLow said, it isn't possible to replace a drive that's in a striped vdev. If you think about it a bit, that makes sense--when you replace a drive in a vdev, ZFS restores the appropriate data to that drive based on what's on the redundant (mirrored or RAIDZ) devices. In a striped vdev, you have no redundancy, so ZFS wouldn't be able to restore the data to the new disk. You could add another disk to the striped vdev (for example, turn a two-way stripe into a three-way stripe), which would increase your capacity, but also increase your risk of losing all data on that pool--if one disk in a stripe fails, the entire vdev fails, and you should expect that it will be impossible to recover any data. The more disks you have, the higher your risk of one of them failing.

Since the whole point of ZFS is data integrity, striped vdevs are pretty strongly discouraged. Is there a particular reason you're using one?

rs225

Guru