Looking for last ditch data recovery tips (ZFS)

Status
Not open for further replies.

kwyjibo

Cadet
Firstly - Mea Culpa - I broke it, I was stupid and I am now trying to recover anything I can.

I have ZFS pool that I migrated to another microserver (Freenas 9.3 to Freenas 9.3) all was fine. Then comes the stupid bit. I was playing around with virtualisation (yes that dirty word) I had passthrough set up on the other box and it was working well to the point that I imported the pool into the virtual environment to see how it would perform. Which was great until I started playing around with passing through the GPU to another VM and kernel panic'd the box. When I got back online the zfs pool instantly reported issues. My response was to kill the VM environment and move the disks back to physical. Since then I have been unable to import the pool.

Quick overview of current status

4 x 2TB Disks single RaidZ1 pool (bfv1) -- All disks appear to be fine (no errors no smartctl issues)

zpool import tells me that the pool was last used on another system so use -f

zpool import -f fails tells me I need to recreate from backup (no backup .. yes I know)

zpool import -fF - fails - I/O error - advises Destroy and re-create pool

zpool import -fFX - runs for almost exactly 24hrs then causes a reboot - Have tried this under Freenas / FreeBSD & Opensolaris exact same behaviour

zpool import -fFXV actually works but doing anything with the pool fails ie zpool clear doesn't work

zdb -e - Runs and prints a bunch of details but then hangs with "Can't open pool, Input/Output error"

zdb -u(or uuu) -e - Fails with can't open pool Input/Output error

zdb -uuu -t 20876738 -e pool --- Works and prints the Uberblock (that being the last transaction ID I can see from zdb dump)