Looking for Info on Making a MythTV pbi/script

Status
Not open for further replies.

brw02005

Dabbler
Hi,
I am a recently unemployed chemical engineer with a minor in IT and I would like to make a MythTV plugin/script.

I recently got MythTV working perfectly on my 9.3 Freenas box with HDHomerun and would like to make it easier for other people to get it up and going. I have been looking into making a PBI but I don't think that will work given the complexity of MythTV. It appears PBIs generally install one package in a jail. If I am incorrect in this assumption please set me straight.

MythTV is a monster with lots of dependencies and needs a properly set up database as well as remote access with X11 forwarding. I am pointing in the direction of a setup script given the size and complexity but I would still like to have a place to host the config files etc to grab with wget. I am looking into input on how best meet this need. Also if nobody is into using a script like this I will probably not develop it as this is truly a niche thing.

Please let me know what you guys think and how best to execute this. Once I have a plan on how best to execute this i can begin making the script.

brw02005

Dabbler
I think one of my major problem is my PBI would need to have multiple ports as well as execute some sql commands to set up the database. MythTV needs certain programs to work that are not listed as dependencies. Without a clear way to do this I think a setup script is the best way. Although the information you provided is very useful and thank you.

I always felt MythTV should clean up its install and improve usability. A simple first run setup that sets up that sets up the database would be a start. Granted, I know you can have master and slave backends but the people who do that can deal with learning sql setup. Here ends my MythTV rant.

Joshua Parker Ruehlig

Hall of Famer