Login as user and switch to root

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lucien

Dabbler
I know I've done this before somehow, but it's not working for me now... If I login via ssh as a user, how do I switch to root? I've tried "su" but I get the response "su: Sorry".

Also, what's the difference between typing "su" and "su -"?

sgbotsford

Cadet
I'm a novice at FreeNAS, but I think I can give you a start on this one.

'su -' is a login shell. Man login for details. Your old environment (that of the user) is discarded. Login dotfiles are executed.

As an example: If you login initially as juser then su you are still in juser's home diretory (or wherever you were when you typed 'su'. If you type 'su -' you start up in root's home directory, you have no command history from juser and so on.

As to the su: sorry line it may be that your user doesn't have permission to su. (On some unix systems only members of certain groups could use the su command. On others, it was restricted by lists, usually located in /etc.) 'man su' in a terminal window should tell you the details.

Finally on many unixlike systems su has been replaced with sudo which is substantially easier to secure and audit. Try 'man sudo'

roachkv

Dabbler
I just upgraded to 8.0.4-RELEASE-p2 within the last couple of days. Previously I was able to su after ssh'ing to my machine, now I can't. Any ideas why? I get the same error as in the OP.

William Grzybowski

Wizard
iXsystems
As @admin said, your user needs to be in wheel group.

It is a security fix, thats why it worked previously.

William Grzybowski

Wizard
iXsystems
The user IS NOT in wheel.

He might be the primary group of the user, which is not the same as belong to (aka in wheel).

roachkv

Dabbler
Clearly I don't know what I'm talking about. Help me understand.