Jails in USB / SSD / SATADOM / HDD / DataSet ?

Jails in USB / SSD / SATADOM / HDD / Main Storage

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

bhadreshl

Dabbler
So, I'm new to FreeNAS and after weeks of research, I finally hunkered down and bought a system: X10Sl7-F / Xeon-1231V3 / 2x8GB DDR3 ECC / 2x2GB DDR3 ECC / 1x6TB HGST / 1x6TB WD Red / 1x16GB SATADOM / 1x16GB Lexar USB3 / 1x16GB
Currently, I'm still tweaking/learning the installation and configuration. I tried freeNAS in Proxmox VE but eventually decided against it after reading the recommendations.

So currently, I'm running FreeNAS directly. However, I still want the ability to run VirtualBox or some other VE from FreeNAS.

Anyways, I trusted the hardware recommendations and purchased a SATADOM-16GB (Supermicro); especially since I'm trying to conserver power.

PREVIOUS CONFIGURATION: configA
ada0 - 16GB-SATADOM - freenas-boot (+ system dataset + Syslog + RRD)
da0 - 16GB-LexarUSB3 - freenas-jails

I was watching the disk activity with 3 plugins (unconfigured/unused) and it was much higher (3x write; minimal read). So I started thinking of future use which plugins/jails are definitely going to increase.

I realize this has been discussed extensively (https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?threads/where-is-best-to-install-the-plugin-jail.10039/) and the recommendation is still in the dataset in the main storage pool.

CURRENT CONFIGURATION: configB
da2 + da3 (mirror) - 2x16GBUSB for freenas-boot -->mirrored for redundancy / failover
da0 - 16GB-SATADOM - jails + system dataset

1) Currently, I'm trying configB. I may still revert the jailroot to main storage pool. Can you please comment / validate configB?
2) Since I've heard freenas-boot gets loaded into RAM, there are maybe no performance implications. Is an SSD/SATADOM necessary for boot vs USB?
3) Will mirroring the freenas-boot make it any faster for booting? My concern is only reliability, but just curious.