Is FreeNAS what I am looking for?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lee C

Cadet
So I want to build something that will allow me to store all my files onto one machine and let it act a lot like dropbox. I know this is the owncloud portion but do I build this through the FreeNAS interface. It's my first time building a linux machine so I am trying to do as much research and ask some questions before I dive into it. I would also like to be able to stream movies on this same file server on devices through out my home as well as be able to access all my files when I am at school or work.

I was thinking about an i3 setup but not sure that is enough if it involves streaming? Then perhaps I should be doing a xenon build? Or even consider an AMD build although I know ECC supported ram might become an issue then.

Thanks for any input,
Lee

rm-r

Contributor
so the answer to your question is yes - the plex plugin will do all you need for streaming, but this does need some cpu horsepower - the owncloud plugin is very easy to configure. and you can also use samba shares very easily. all of these things i also do.

i STRONGLY suggest reeding the hardware sticky in this forum before going anywhere near a shop.

and as above - its not Linux - FreeNAS is FreeBSD based

Lee C

Cadet
My apologies, I am obviously a little bit lacking in the knowledge department here.

What kind of CPU are we talking about here? Would a newer quad core AMD be good? Or do I need an i7? Is the i3 too little in a big way? Or do I need a xenon?

david kennedy

Explorer
My apologies, I am obviously a little bit lacking in the knowledge department here.

What kind of CPU are we talking about here? Would a newer quad core AMD be good? Or do I need an i7? Is the i3 too little in a big way? Or do I need a xenon?

Most here would say you want to go with ECC memory if you plan on using ZFS. This means you would need a motherboard/cpu combo which supports ECC.

jgreco

Resident Grinch