Is Freenas Plug ang Play fo 10GB nic ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Perhaps some may find this question stupid , but for one who doesn't know how FreeBSD works it make sense:

I want to add 10GB nic card to my already functioning FreeNAS 9.3. Do I just shutdown the PC , add the new nic , then boot up and Freenas detects Intel X540-T2 and install the proper drivers and start showing new extra interface ready to go ? Just like Windows , or perhaps Freenas need to be installed from scratch in order to detect new hardware and install the proper drivers ?

What is the proper way to be done ? I understand windows but I am very new to FreeBSD.

depasseg

FreeNAS Replicant
As long as the NIC is supported by Freenas, it should be as simple as you wrote (power down, insert card, power up). Check out the 10Gb Networking Primer sticky by jgreco.

So Freenas will detecting new hardware on every reboot like windows does ? And I can and and remove nics without need to reinstall in order new nic to be detected and divers installed ?

BTW I did read that post from jpgreco you mention juat an hour ago, thanks anyway

Robert Trevellyan

Pony Wrangler
So Freenas will detecting new hardware on every reboot
Yes.
like windows does ?
No.

Like any *nix I've used, FreeBSD probes the hardware at boot time and loads the drivers for whatever it finds, assuming it has them. Windows installs drivers the first time it sees a new hardware device, then gets upset when things change again, sometimes forcing you to reactivate your license.

As long as the NIC is supported by Freenas, it should be as simple as you wrote (power down, insert card, power up). Check out the 10Gb Networking Primer sticky by jgreco.

It's seem you have pretty powerful Freenas system I gather from your signature, I am assuming you do have 10G nic for your system ?

zambanini

Patron
for some cards you need to set some tuneables. chelsio, intel and so on.

depasseg

FreeNAS Replicant