IPMI viewer that is a native application to Windows?

Status
Not open for further replies.

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Anyone know of any IPMI viewers (preferably that support console redirect) that is a native application to Windows? I saw someone use one once and I cannot remember the name of it, but I've wanted to try it because using the stupid java applets is getting old. They are buggy and unreliable.

I've searched for this on Google and so far come up empty handed. Everyone seems to complain about how unreliable the java applets are and everyone has various sets of instructions with various workarounds to make things work for their given problem, but I'd like to find a native Windows application to use.

Thanks.

cdgonzalez

Dabbler
Found Supermicro IPMIView referenced on a fairly dated blog but it was tested successful on Java6U31 with Windows 7. I have no experience with the application. http://www.supermicro.com/solutions/SMS_IPMI.cfm

"IPMIView is a GUI-based software application that allows administrators to manage multiple target systems through BMC. IPMIView V2.0 supports Supermicro’s BMCs that adheres to either IPMI v1.5 or v2.0. "

Features include KVM Console Redirection.

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Yeah, the problem is that IPMIView is also Java, and that's specifically what I'm trying to avoid. Java is being changed with every update, which breaks things like console redirection badly. You're left with updating the IPMI firmware (assuming an update is actually provided) or not upgrade Java. I consider both to be a lose-lose because updates don't seem to be regular and not upgrading Java is a nonstarter for me.