IPFW script not loading at boot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Khang Nguyen

Cadet
Hello,

I am new to FreeNas so please bear with me. I am following instructions from this article to configure IPFW for my FreeNAS. https://www.freebsd.org/doc/handbook/firewalls-ipfw.html

In my rc.conf I have these two firewall statements;
firewall_enable="yes"
firewall_script="/etc/myrules.sh"

In myrules.sh script has all the rules and it runs fine when I execute it manually (sh myrules.sh)

However, I have 2 problems.
  1. The myrules.sh script will not run at boot. After I reboot the FreeNAS and run "ipfw -show", it shows "65535 allow ip from any to any" and none of my rules in my rules script shows.
  2. If I manually execute the myrules.sh script and run "ipfw -show" again, it will list all my rules first and the 65535 allow ip from any to any" at bottom.
I thought /etc/rc.d/ipfw controls how IPFW is loaded via rc.conf, and if I specified firewall_script in /etc/rc.conf, then /etc/rc.d/ipfw loads only that script at boot.

My question is why my rule script is not running at boot and where is the "65535 allow ip from any to any" loading from? Please let me know if you have any advice on how to fix this.

Thanks,
Khang

joeschmuck

Old Man
You need to provide more information per our forum rules in order to provide you some help.

1) What version of FreeNAS are you runing?
2) We don't need hardware configuration really provided you are running the recommended minimum requirements.
3) While you are being descriptive for the most part with your problem, you are quoting the FreeBSD manual and trying to implement changes in rc.conf directly I suspect. Read the FreeNAS user manual about the tunables and rc.conf settings, that may solve your problems.
4) If you still need help, tell us enough so we can try to recreate your problem and test why your changes are not working.

Khang Nguyen

Cadet
Hi Joe,

Please see below for my responses to your questions.