Installing FreeNAS on HP Microserver Gen10 - braindead simple instructions required please!

Status
Not open for further replies.

MikeH

Cadet
Hello,

I have just bought an HP Microserver Gen10 to run FreeNAS on to replace my failing Netgear ReadyNAS Duo and probably once I have it working to replace my Qnap NAS as well. Before I bought the HP I read about the installation problems with the Gen10 here on this forum (https://forums.freenas.org/index.ph...r-a-few-seconds-on-a-microserver-gen10.56809/) and saw there was a work around (https://bugs.freebsd.org/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=221350) so felt confident it would be all okay, more fool me it turns out.

Is there any chance some kind soul could walk me though in baby steps how to implement that fix please? The problem is, I have zero BSD knowledge or experience and limited Linux knowledge and experience. I have a Windows 7 desktop and an Ubuntu laptop to work with but neither will read the install USB flash drive I wrote using Rufus. I tried to alter the /boot/loader.con file in the ISO image but I couldn't write it back into the image (and I may not have added the line of code properly any way). I'm pretty much stuck right now.

I have also read about people installing FreeNAS on another machine and then swapping the drive into the Gen10. I have a spare machine (Phenom II based - I don't really want to pull apart my main work machine, i5 based, right now if I don't have to but if that was the only option then I would) that I could put the SSD I want to install to into and use that but would that work since the hardware is completely different? I'd have thought that BSD would install all the necessary drivers for my spare/test machine and so wouldn't work when the drive was put into the Gen10, or will BSD cope with that?

Any help greatly appreciated.

Cheers, Mike...

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler