Initial Configuration - USB thumb drive plugged into a NAS enclosure

Status
Not open for further replies.

bigalk

Cadet
Hi all,

total newbie to all this so if theres a sticky or links i havent seen please post them. I have a smartdisk nd250 (Smartdisk were bought by verbatim and verbatim no longer host the software) that i want to hook up to my network as NAS share.

1) am i correct in thinking that this particular configuration is supported - that i can run freenas off a thumb drive plugged into my old NAS drive?
2) If so - how to do i initially configure the drive after first boot? (as shown here - http://doc.freenas.org/index.php/Initial_Setup)
- can i access the drive from 192.168.1.128, as ive seen some posts relating to

thanks,
alan

pirateghost

Unintelligible Geek
1) unless it is x86 hardware, dont expect it to work at all

2) if you can run FreeNAS on it, you browse to the IP that you configure at the console....if it doesnt run x86, or have serial or video output, you are out of luck.

bigalk

Cadet
Hi Pirate,

and thanks for the reply!

1) how can i assess this
2) that is exactly the problem i am foreseeing - how do i get to the console if this has not already been network configured. should i boot it on a desktop and configure it there?

thanks again,
Alan

pirateghost

Unintelligible Geek
is the device an actual computer? with ram and a processor? what are the specs? Maybe I am looking at the wrong thing but the only device I see listed as that looks like a simple single drive enclosure with no real brain...in which case its highly unlikely its a usable PC for this.

if you have no monitor or serial connection coming from the device, you simply cant use it. how do you propose it boots from USB?

bigalk

Cadet
Hi Pirate,