Importing ext4 disk?

Vectorspace

Dabbler
From what I gather from the user guide and searching this forum, this is only possible sometimes. I have tried and failed, but I am new at this so I don't know if I've done something wrong, so I would like to double-check that there's nothing I can do.

My newly built FreeNAS box has a pair of new disks formatted as ZFS, and a pair of disks of older disks from my previous home-made NAS (Ubuntu + Samba) that were ext4 formatted and mounted together as raid10 (yes, 10. Should have been 1).
FreeNAS detects both disks, as /dev/ada3 and /dev/ada4

When I go to Storage -> Import Disk, it gives me the option of importing from \dev\ada3s1 or \dev\ada4s1. I have tried both. I pick the ext2fs option for filesystem type as that's the closest.

It then fails with this error:
Code:
Mount failed (exit code 1): mount: /dev/ada4s1: Invalid argument

Error: Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/job.py", line 333, in run
    await self.future
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/job.py", line 364, in __run_body
    rv = await self.method(*([self] + args))
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/schema.py", line 664, in nf
    return await f(*args, **kwargs)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/plugins/pool.py", line 448, in import_disk
    async with MountFsContextManager(self.middleware, volume, src, fs_type, fs_options, ["ro"]):
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/plugins/pool.py", line 192, in __aenter__
    await mount(self.device, self.path, *self.args, **self.kwargs)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/plugins/pool.py", line 83, in mount
    output[1].decode("utf-8"),
ValueError: Mount failed (exit code 1):
mount: /dev/ada4s1: Invalid argument

Is there anything else that I can try? Something less complicated than my last ditch plan of: