I'm New and have a Problem - Loading /boot/defaults/loader.conf

Status
Not open for further replies.

StewLayzell

Cadet
Hi All,

Im new to the forum and also new to FreeNas.

A friend was kind enough to help build me a HP Micro Server which has FreeNas installed on.

Everything has been working fine until i unplugged the unit for an evening. When i re-plugged the machine in i noticed that my WDTV did not pick up the Server details.

I have plugged the server into the TV to see whats happening and it looks like its stopped working.

The last message is:
FreeBSD/x86 bootstrap loader, revision 1.1
(root@build.ixsystems.com, Wed Apr 3 15:39:05 PDT 2013)
Loading /boot/defaults/loader.conf

Now as mentioned i am completely new to all this and my friend is unsure how to resolve this issue.

I have quite a few pictures on the server which have not been backed up so I'm really hoping that i will be able to get these off.

Any help with this would be AMAZING.

Many Thanks
Stewart

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
What's the hardware, specifically?

Sounds like a FUBARed install. Just reinstall FreeNAS, upload the config and it should hopefully be fixed.

StewLayzell

Cadet
Hi Eirc,

Many thanks for your reply.

Its a HP ProLiant MicroServer
4 x 2000gb Hard Drive
2 x 4gb Ram

Sorry for probably sounding dumb now.
But do you mean i just need to reload the FreeNas software onto a USB drive, plug into the Server and then just re configure the server?
I'm not sure what you mean by upload the config file ? does this come with the installation.

Like i mentioned before i have never used or have any knowledge of FreeNas or Servers. Im very much as dumb as they get :)

I have tried turning the machine on this morning and I'm now prompted with :
This is a FreeNas data disk and can not boot system. System halted

Again any help would be amazing.

Thanks
Stewart

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler