How to set up 4 disks with 2 striped and then mirrored

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello forum,

I have a small installation with 4 drives (2TB each) and I am trying to understand how I can create two pairs of striped disks which I can mirror then (basically a RAID-10 I would think). In the volume manager I can only select drives and then either mirror or stripe. How do I properly do this using the UI? Or do I need to use the command line to achieve this?

Here's what I tried so far, but the result is not what I expected (5.4 TB instead of 4 TB). First I created a volume with two drives and selected mirrored, then I extended the volume with two disks and selected striped.
Is that the proper way to do it?

Any help is greatly appreciated as I am somewhat new to ZFS (yet I know that I do not want a RAIDZ, but a simpler form since mirroring should be sufficient for my home use).

paleoN

Wizard
Here's what I tried so far, but the result is not what I expected (5.4 TB instead of 4 TB). First I created a volume with two drives and selected mirrored, then I extended the volume with two disks and selected striped.
Is that the proper way to do it?
No, select mirror the second time as well. This will create your striped mirrors.

Thanks, that looks about right. Got 3.6 TB space on the volume now. Let's see how far I can take it from here ;-)

rguyler

Cadet
Thanks, that looks about right. Got 3.6 TB space on the volume now. Let's see how far I can take it from here ;-)

To be technically correct, when you stripe disk pairs first then mirror the pairs it's called RAID 0/1, not RAID 10, which builds mirrors first then stripes across them.