How to Scroll Shell Windows??

Status
Not open for further replies.

NewAtOCing

Cadet
I know, I know... a total noob question, but I can't figure out for the life of me how to scroll through the results of the shell window.

I got several checksum errors and did a smartctl -a, but the results are way to long to read without having someway to scroll. I have tried up/down arrows, page up/down, +/-, and using scroll lock, shift, and alt with all combinations of the previously mentioned keys.

If there is not a way, is it possible to output the results with spacing/formatting? I also tried smartctl -a /dev/ada1 > /mnt/MediaDrive/test.txt, but that is un-formatted and extremely hard to read. Also, e-mail is not an option.

Thanks!

jgreco

Resident Grinch
UNIX blesses us with the miracle of pipes. Not the crappy imitation provided by MS-DOS, but the real thing. You can take one command and run it through another.

"smartctl -a | more"

This is probably the best way to go. However, FreeBSD's console also has a scrollback function. It's just a little hidden, because you don't want the console intercepting stuff that a program might do. Hit "scroll lock", at which point your cursor should change (or vanish or something, don't recall). Then page up/page down (or cursor up/down for line-at-a-time). The downside: the scrollback is only 200 lines by default. You can bump it up with "vidcontrol -h <number>"

Stephens

Patron
This is a question, not a challenge, but what makes MS-DOS's piping a crappy imitation of *NIX's? As far as I know, more works the same with MS-DOS. BTW, *nix noob that I am, I've all but replaced "more" usage with "less".

jgreco

Resident Grinch
MS-DOS does it with temporary files, which imposes a lot of constraints on how it works, not the least of which is that a command has to complete before output can be paged, and output length is restricted based on things like available disk space.