How to Convert exFat to ZFS in TrueNAS 13

KurtM

Cadet
I'm new to TrueNAS, and trying not to fumble around too much.
I have an external RAID case with five 2TB SSD. Originally, I wanted to use the case with all five drives independent, to allow TrueNAS to handle the RAID, but only ONE of the five drives showed inside of TrueNAS, while all five showed up when connected to a Windows box. So I configured my drive case to hardware RAID 5. When I connected the case to my TrueNAS system (USB) the drives wouldn't show in import or anywhere I looked, so I tried connecting it to one of my Windows machines and formatted it as exFAT. Then I reconnected it to my TrueNAS box and it shows up.
My question is how do I reformat that exFAT to ZFS inside of TrueNAS. I can't find the answer anywhere.

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity
First, please disable the hardware RAID5.

Next, TrueNAS expects bare drives without any partitioning. You can run gpart destroy -F /dev/dax to delete the partition table on each drive.

KurtM

Cadet
First, please disable the hardware RAID5.

Next, TrueNAS expects bare drives without any partitioning. You can run gpart destroy -F /dev/dax to delete the partition table on each drive.
Samuel, thanks for your prompt reply.
My one question is inre: the issue of only ONE of the five drives in my case showing in TrueNAS, and how do I get around that?

Samuel Tai

Please provide details of your external enclosure, and how you connect it to TrueNAS.

the issue of only ONE of the five drives in my case showing in TrueNAS, and how do I get around that?
The enclosure might be presenting the same serial # for all the drives, and hence can only read the first drive in the external bay.

Regardless, even if you get it working, it can cause some major issues having 5 devices being accessed by ZFS over a single USB connection...

Last edited:

Samuel Tai