Home Whitebox ESXi with FreeNAS handling local storage

Status
Not open for further replies.

invisiblade

Cadet
I'm kind of new to FreeNas, ESXi, and really anything beyond home Windows support. Please forgive me for my level of knowledge, but I'm reading alot and trying to learn. This seems like a fairly large challenage, at least to me at this point. I'm looking for suggestions and different points of view.

Here's the senario. I have a decent box (back to hardware in a minute) that I would like to setup to be my home All-In-One server. I've been reading a lot on how to best configure it, and I'd like to utilize the hardware I have without having to buy anything, or the minimum amount. I know it won't be long and I'll need to replace the drives, but I want to use the one's I have for now.

My current plan is to install ESXi on it and run a handful of VM's. I've already installed ESXi and confirmed that it works with the hardware I have, but just as a test. The problem I have is that it doesn't support the onboard RAID controller. Even if it did, it's not the greatest options.

What I'd like to do to handle the local drives is use FreeNas as a VM on the machine, pass to it all the drives (if possible), and setup zfs and then iSCSI back to the ESXi host to create the other VM's on.

Here are the main VM's I want to run

High Importance VM's
pfSense VM
This will be my main firewall for my house. I want to do proxy cacheing, as much as reasonably possible, so need some space for that.

Linux Server VM
This will be running maybe 100 php scripts all day (Not necessarily all at once), and storaging a few hundred thousand record Postgresql database.
This needs to be fastish, on 24/7, and 'safe' with redunancy. I will back it up to a seperate location along with the local reduancy.
I'm not sure how big the database will be yet, it's all texted based information so I imagine even if I hit a million records it can't be that big.

Would like on this server:
Windows VM