Home folder duplicate created inside home folder filling up my NAS!

Status
Not open for further replies.

JakobUnn

Cadet
As a filmmaker, I've been using a freenas system for video files for a while now. On my FreeNAS there are 2 users. Me and another person. I needed access to his home folder so I figured I could just change my home directory up one level from /mnt/Media/jakob to /mnt/Media

Big mistake. As it did not solve my problem I just changed it back. The problem now is that for some reason the freenas started to create a duplicate of my home folder "jakob" inside /mnt/Media/jakob as well as an empty "jails" folder in the top directory. This then filled up the rest of the space as my home folder is several TB large. I got several critical warnings that the storage was filled and it finally stopped at 96%. Can anyone tell me how to delete the duplicate folder inside my home folder? and stop it from creating more?

There are no users with the home folder path (/mnt/Media/jakob/jakob). The file cannot be deleted from my computer as it is "in use".

System spec:
3x 3TB disks running RAID 5
Intel i7 third generation quad core
3x 2GB ram modules

If you want any more information just ask. I'm not very experienced with FreeNAS so I didn't really now what information is relevant. This NAS is very important for my work and any help would be much appreciated.

Last edited by a moderator:

joeschmuck

Old Man
my first thought is to restore your configuration file from before you made the change. I hope this will restore your system to normal. Once that is done and the data stops being duplicated, then try to delete the data. You may need to log in as root to do this.

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
What version of FreeNAS?

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk

JakobUnn

Cadet