High-performing NAS/Media Distribution Server

CK224

Cadet
Hey all,

I am trying to build a high-performing local NAS/Media-Distribution server and thought that FreeNAS looks like a good fit. Since I am new to this, I went through the Forum and the Hardware Guide and tried to collect as much information and designed the Server accordingly.

I hope the hardware selection makes sense and I haven’t overlooked anything essential. Any comment / input is highly appreciated - thanks in advance!

Aim/Requirements/Outline:
  • Media-Server for content distribution over Ethernet & WiFi(up to 10x 4K streams + up to 20x HD streams & connected to a 10GB-Ethernet Network)
  • Small form factor (as small as possible)
Chassis:
Motherboard
CPU
  • Intel Xeon D-1518 Processor
  • (refer to Motherboard)
RAM
Power Supply
Additional SATA/SAS connectivity
  • N/A
Boot Devices
Networking
  • 2x 10GBE (refer to Motherboard)
Storage
  • Since space in the chassis is limited and I want to use both SSDs as data-storage, is it possible to not use any Raid/ZFS set-up (the data can be restored from another server in case the SSDs fail)?
Thanks again for your feedback.

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
10 x 4k streams and 20 HD streams. I think that might be a little ambitious for a low-power system like this. What software for the streaming? Plex?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I537 using Tapatalk

kdragon75

Wizard
Nope.

JohnK

Patron
I like a short and sweet response. .

I don’t have any of the proposed hardware and can’t comment on experience, but if the usecase is just reading and no transcoding, I would stick in 16Gb ram modules x 4 and it might work as the processor shouldn’t work too hard. But with that said, you do lose all the things that makes FreeNas good.

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
Media-Server for content distribution over Ethernet & WiFi(up to 10x 4K streams + up to 20x HD streams & connected to a 10GB-Ethernet Network)
Why have you not responded in any way?