Hi, I'm new here!

Status
Not open for further replies.

MAC_Addy

Dabbler
Good afternoon, people!

I'm new to Freenas - I just got it installed a couple of nights ago, got my storage up and running and have been reading through the installation document. However, when attempting to navigate to my NAS, which is located at \\192.168.42.81\share I get a message (in windows) "Windows Cannot Access \\192.168.42.81". I can ping the box, I can get to it via CLI. I have setup a username/password to access the share, but it never prompts me to enter a username/password. When I try to map a drive, I checked the box to “connect using different credentials”.

I ran wireshark to see what was going on. In the packet capture I could see my initiated pings, but when I kill that and try to map or navigate through Start>Run, I don't see any traffic go to the NAS itself.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

majerus

Contributor
Is the smb service running? Can you provide a screenshots of how you have things configured?

MAC_Addy

Dabbler
Is the smb service running? Can you provide a screenshots of how you have things configured?
Apologies, I meant to add that the SMB service is running correctly. I also tried it (last night) from my wife's laptop which is a Macbook Pro. The share seems to work connecting through SMB. So, I am wondering if it's my PC that is the issue?

For screenshots, I'll post those later as I'm at work, not at home.

majerus

Contributor
Sometimes I also recycle the SMB service following changes that might be worth a shot.

MAC_Addy

Dabbler
Sometimes I also recycle the SMB service following changes that might be worth a shot.
I tried that a whole bunch of times, unfortunately it didn't work. I also tried a few articles that I found online. One of them enabling the lanman service in Windows. That didn't fix it either.

In regards to screenshots, what would you like to see?

WookieCookie

Dabbler