Help with drive error (single HDD system)

Status
Not open for further replies.

av8r

Dabbler
I'm running FreeNAS-9.3-STABLE-201512121950 and recently have been getting these errors:

CRITICAL: Device: /dev/ada0, 1960 Currently unreadable (pending) sectors
CRITICAL: Device: /dev/ada0, 1960 Offline uncorrectable sectors

I have one, 2T drive in the system (ya, I know...bad practice) and would like to replace this drive ASAP. What's weird (I think) is that when I run the zpool status command I get this:

Screen Shot 2016-10-22 at 9.53.37 AM.png

I'm not technically adept so I'm not sure why the errors seem to be conflicting. Either way, is there a process outlined to replace the only drive in a system? I didn't see it in the manual and searching online returned nothing. I believe I can add the drive to the machine and then copy the data, but I'm not sure.

Thanks in advance.

wblock

Documentation Engineer
Those are SMART errors, located during a SMART test. The scrub shows they have not affected actual stored data yet. The drive has not failed yet, but it's getting there. Back up now.

It should be possible to add another drive to this one to create a mirror, at least with the command line. All the data will be resilvered onto the new drive, then this drive can be replaced with another new drive.

av8r

Dabbler
Those are SMART errors, located during a SMART test. The scrub shows they have not affected actual stored data yet. The drive has not failed yet, but it's getting there. Back up now.

It should be possible to add another drive to this one to create a mirror, at least with the command line. All the data will be resilvered onto the new drive, then this drive can be replaced with another new drive.
Thank you. Does the new drive have to be the same size as the current drive? I've ordered components to build a new box, including new drives so I'd like to be able to use whatever drive I buy today in the new box as well.

rs225

Guru
Same size or bigger.