Help save my build!

errr

Dabbler
I recently set out to build a small, cheap, powerful enough and energy efficient TrueNAS server. I settled on a Thinkcentre m710q tiny with a 5x 3.5" bay usb external storage enclosure. After setting it all up I found that only one of my drives was getting recognized in the enclosure. After doing some quick googling here I found very quickly found that using USB external storage was very much not recommended. It seems like the enclosure presents the drives to the OS all under the same serial number which is why they're not getting recognized. So now I have a bunch of hardware that doesn't work together and I have no idea what to do. I'm a student so I don't really have much more money to throw at this. I'm still within the return window for the enclosure but I don't know how I'm going to recover and make the Thinkcentre Tiny work. I was looking into getting a PCIE expansion card like this but I don't know how I would power my drives with the Thinkcentre only having a small 65W power supply. Please help me save this build!

Welcome!

1. ZFS file system requires direct access to the hard drives, e.g. not through a bridge chip (as you discovered) of any kind or a RAID controller.

2. TrueNAS is an NAS appliance distribution and you will not be able to install proprietary drivers or packages, thus you will likely have challenges with the SATA expansion card you linked. The card itself does not provide power to the drives and the thermal constraints of the Thinkcentre would be of concern. I've highlighted some red flags

Screenshot 2022-09-15 at 12.31.07 AM.png

3. Given your cost and power consumption constraints, you are likely better off purchasing a used low power OEM x86_64 NAS off evilBay and hope you can get it to work, i.e. QNAP or Synology

Last edited:

errr

Dabbler