Help needed for better performance

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been using Freenas for about 10 months now. Most things work fine for me (plugins etc.) and the performance was good while using 9.1.

I've updated to 9.2.1.6 and ever since I've had a large drop in performance.

My setup is:

MSI P31 Neo V2
Intel E8500
2x2GB
1x Seagate ST20000DM001
1x Samsung HD501LJ
1x Western Digital WD5000AAKS

I know 8gb is a better option, but because of a small budget, I'm using this setup.

I've read a lot of information about tuning to improve performance. I've found 2 tunables that i thought would be good:

vfs.zfs.prefetch_disable=1
vfs.zfs.arc_min=512mb

I'm not a total noob, but couldn't figure out other tunables to increase performance. At this moment, I've got a max of 8mb/sec. I know that the onboard LAN is a realtek one and that a Intel one would give better speeds, so apart from tuning, I'm gonna buy an intel one.

Is there, apart from installing an Intel NIC and the tunables I'm using now anything else I can do?

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
Yes, you could meet the minimum requirement of 8GB of RAM. It's not recommended, it's a requirement, and for good reason.

If that is not an option, I recommend you find an alternative that's more suitable to your hardware (though an Intel NIC will help pretty much every system stuck with a Realtek).

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Yes, upgrade to the minimum requirements in the manual. ;)

I do understand that 4gb isn't much running Freenas. The weird thing is, with 9.1 I used to get way better performance (up to 40mb/sec). I could try again with 9.1, but I'm afraid of losing my Zpool. Also, I'm not sure if I can use the 9.2 backup of my configuration file.

And after reading a lot of information about configurations and all, I know Realtek is terrible compared to Intel NIC

Thanks for your reply.

cyberjock

Inactive Account
@anodos, No, I do now the NIC is 10/100/1000 ;)