Help in my first build

Status
Not open for further replies.

Phoare

Cadet
Hi,

I am new in this topic of building a server, I have always been building Pcs but I have never try to approach building a server. Why I came across with this I idea, well currently, i am studying agronomic engineer, and we have a farm in Argentina, in which we are going to install at the end of the year a new livestock software management, that consist of collar-mounted activity meter that collects and transmits activity data from each cow, every hour, to a Pc in the farm. The data that we can acquire with this system is really important for us, and as you can imagine we can receive tons of this data (approx. 10-15tb per year) and here I find the first problem, where I can safely store all this data. Part of the data that we receive from the interface is analyzed in real time, the other part is kept on the hard drive of the main pc in that the runs the software.
The other problem that I have is that eventually at the end of the week and every month is that I have to analyze all the data with a vet, not only I have to work with the real-time data of that day, I also need the old data from the previous time, so here I have another point of why I came across with the idea of a server.
Finally, sometimes we are not in the farm, so I will need some kind of remote Access to the data, not only my self, the vet and other people of the team will need remote access to the data, that is the last point of why I think that I need a server.
I have seen other farms in Argentina with this system and they storage all the information in external hard drives or even in CDs, so you can imagine how difficult was finding the data of a particular event, and in all case, it was impossible the idea of Remote Access.