Hello

Status
Not open for further replies.

cs86

Dabbler
Hello everyone,

I'm new to the forum and introducing myself. I've been reading about freenas and I'm interesting in the software. I have limited knowledge when it comes to networking. I enjoy building my own computers and need a centralized location for storing all my data that has good backup. I've been trying to read and learn all I can from this site for a freenas system, but I've been having troubles. I'm wondering if it's worth my time to try and learn how to build, setup, and manage a freenas system with my limited knowledge of networking?

joeschmuck

Old Man
First of all, Welcome to FreeNAS forums!

In order to help out your delima let me ask you a few questions...
1) If a backup solution is all you are looking for, is slow network speeds acceptable?

If all you need is slow and reliable backup, for example you have a few computers on your network and you just need to backup your system and photos, etc... And speed is not an issue (~25MB/sec) then you could purchase a premade NAS device and add a pair or more of hard drives to create a mirror or RAID5 storage. This is not a bad option for many people.

2) If a backup solution is all you are looking for and you need to backup at maximum speed (almost full bandwidth of your network) then you can purchase a premade unit however here is where the rub comes in, a premade unit capable of full bandwidth transfers costs a lot of money.

This is where FreeNAS begins to shine and even a cheap FreeNAS system can generally hit full bandwidth of your network.

3) If you have plans to stream video content with a program like Plex then FreeNAS is for you as well.