Hello! Super-newb to NAS + potential build

Status
Not open for further replies.

threedb

Cadet
Hi, I am trying to build a FreeNAS. Here is my build on PcPartPicker. My budget is, er.. was supposed to be $1000. By the time I buy it we may have already spent all my $ at Outback Steakhouse. No, I am not a fan of the 2TB drives but at 6 disks to get me into a RaidZ2 that seems to be what all the cool kids are doing. This one is about the 10th version of this build.

I am a CG artist and not technical. I work a couple of freelance jobs using Synology Diskstations and am in love with NAS. I was going to buy the above but then was encouraged to build my own. I am reading the official FreeNAS guide now and the FreeNAS Forums powerpoint presentation as well. I understand about half of what I am reading but am learning. I don't know if I can do command line or not. I guess that's the 64 million dollar question. It's dubious whether or not I should even be doing this. But I am enthusiastic and still reading. Not that it's the same but I have had minor exposure to Maya MEL script and briefly touched on Python.

This is as much for backing up my desktop machine as it is a central dump for me and my wife's pictures and stuff and hopefully will be able to stream a movie of some kind to one tv set in the living room. Yes, I will have another backup for this offsite -- probably Backblaze. FreeNAS technology is also pretty neat.

I guess I would appreciate any feedback on the above build if that is possible. If that is the proper way to go about doing things here. I appreciate any feedback. Thanks!

Haysden Smart

Dabbler
Looks to be a descent build.

If you are looking at running a media server (such as Plex) to stream video, I would add a bit more Ram.

My system is overkill but it's better to overkill now and future proof your Nas.