Hello, newbie here! Choice: i3 or Avoton? (Answered)

Status
Not open for further replies.

jamarino94

Dabbler
Hello people of FreeNAS!

My name is Jonathan, and I seem to have caught myself up in building my own little FreeNAS box. I'm 22 and just about done with my bachelor in Computer Science. Needless to say I am quite interested in the wonderful world of computers!

While I have some experience with both building pc's as well as linux and commandline, I have no hands-on experience with FreeNAS. I've done some reading around the forum, and it has been quite helpful, so thank you!

However, I find myself in a bit of a dilemma. I am trying to finally decide on hardware, but cannot choose between an i3-4170 and a motherboard with built-in Atom Avoton c2550.

A bit of usesage information:
The primary objective of this NAS build is to provide safe storage/backup of important files (family photos + work related files). My family currently owns a small 4-disk (RAID-6) Synology NAS, that I intend to sync with. Being in different locations, this will hopefully provide protection in case of fire-damage etc. As such, integrity is top priority, and I plan to run RAID-Z3 on a 5-disk array (paranoid, I know). In addition, I would like to use the Fractal Node 304 to keep things small.

As a bonus, I would like to run a VPN-server on the box, for management and access purposes.

Now, the hardware that I have decided on:
- Case: Fractal Node 304 (mini-ITX)
- RAM: 16GB (2x8GB) of [insert cheapest manufacturer here] DDR3L 1600 ECC
- Powersupply: I'll be upgrading my desktop PSU, and using my 2-year old Corsair CX500M in the NAS (Sorry Cyberjock, I cheaped on the PSU. This is the most affordable way for me to realize my plans)
- Disks: 5x WD Red 1TB

And now comes the dilemma.. Drumroll please..:
Mobo + CPU combo: ASRock C2550D4I (2.4-2.6 GHz quad core Atom C2550)

OR

CPU: i3-4170 (3.7 GHz dual core with hyperthreading)
Mobo: ASRock E3C226D2I

Concerns: