Hello, greetings and help me pick my mobo...LOL

Status
Not open for further replies.

Duderino2020

Dabbler
First, I am a former IT admin (back in the Windows NT4 days when it took 300 hours just to setup a printer) that has been self-employed for 15 years now. I handle small biz IT up to 50 PCs but most clients are 5-25. I also do structured cabling, surveillance systems and some other complimentary markets.

But now I am stepping into the Freenas world for the first time. This forum and the DIY types here are my kind of people!!!!!!!!!!! This is my first post here and I will do follow posts as I progress and will include pictures too. For the sake of giving credit where it is due, I had been toying with this idea for a year or so but the NASFERATU project found at Tek Syndicate really motivated me to get this thing done!!!!

Please help me choose my motherboard and RAM amount.

This will be my first Freenas build. I am on the kindergarten level when it comes to Linux, FreeBSD, and similar. I did successfully build and use my own pfSense router using an AMD 5350 Quad Core and an Asrock AM1H-ITX mobo with a Zyxel NWA5123-NI WiFi AP. I am done with buying the consumer level home routers for $200-300 and installing DD-WRT. Also, I have done A LOT of reading here, Golding there and researching all over. I felt the time was right for me to ask questions specific to my needs and to try to get answers specific to me. So forgive my redundancy but I have my reasons. lol

I am currently trying to decide between these two motherboards -

Asrock C2550D4I
http://www.asrockrack.com/general/productdetail.asp?Model=C2550D4I#Specifications

SuperMicro A1SAi-2550F
http://www.supermicro.com/products/motherboard/Atom/X10/A1SAi-2550F.cfm

MY CURRENT NAS - HOW I USE IT - WHAT MY NEEDS ARE -