Hello from Socal

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mynorx

Explorer
Hi Guys

I live in Southern California, I've been building computers for my self and family since 1998. I own a small business and have been using an infrant ready nas nv+ with 600GB running raid 5 backed up by crash plan I purchased in 2007 . I fear its on its last leg and need to find a solution. I found out about FreeNas by way of Tekzilla, I have been reading up on the forum posts and via youtube videos and have some questions brewing. I hope to post my first question and learn from you guys as soon as I read up a little more. I've already purchased 4, 3TB WD reds (newegg $112 with promo code) and will be researching what mobo and CPU to purchase next.

BTW I'm not convinced that it's REALLY necessary to purchase ECC RAM. Can someone elaborate a bit more about this? (just kidding)

Thanks

cyberjock

Inactive Account
TW I'm not convinced that it's REALLY necessary to purchase ECC RAM. Can someone elaborate a bit more about this? (just kidding)

*gets out the town's pitchforks and torches*

lol

jgreco

Resident Grinch
I've already purchased 4, 3TB WD reds (newegg $112 with promo code) and will be researching what mobo and CPU to purchase next.

As soon as you remove all those pitchforks from your butt (that looks like that hurts!), there's some great guidance over in the hardware forum. Take your time, ask questions, and you should wind up with a machine that'll take you another seven years.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
http://forums.freenas.org/index.php?threads/ecc-vs-non-ecc-ram-and-zfs.15449/

The ECC discussion.

I'll just add to the thread that every once in a while we see the unlucky guy who lost his data because he didn't have ECC. We also see the lucky guys who had memory problems but didn't lose all their data - because they were using ECC. The extra cost is small, so there's no reason not to use ECC.

cyberjock

Inactive Account