Hello from Central MN !!

jblnut

Cadet
After a LONG TEDIOUS search for a custom built NAS solution (Google reported 0.012876sec) I have landed upon the world of FreeNAS. I searched high and low (wasn't hard to find FreeNAS) for something that wasn't a cheesy out of the box solution like I am already using (Drobo 5n) and I have decided to dive into the world of FreeNAS and all it has to offer. I will be starting with a simple file server used to house movies, music, TV shows, you know, Plex stuff. I hope it blossoms into a long term relationship that I can incorporate into my work world on a daily basis.

I have been gathering parts for a few months to build a FreeNAS server and should be ready to let the pixies flow through the circuits soon. I decided to go simple with a SuperMicro M/B and a single Xeon processor, a bit of RAM, an 850w Seasonic PSU, a Roswill 4U chassis (POS DO NOT BUY) and a random selection of disks off my shelf to see what I can do with it all. I'm no beginner in the world of computing and things but I expect I have A LOT to learn about the do's, do not's and Good Grief Don't Do THAT's of FreeNAS.

Thank you for inviting me in with open arms and I hope one day I can actually contribute something outside of the "Introductions" area :)

droeders

Contributor
Based on (most) of your hardware choices, it looks like you've done some reading and preparation. That approach will serve you well with FreeNAS.

You will find lots of knowledge and helpful members here. Welcome to the forums!

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Yeah, just jump in anyways. Some reading and searching will serve you well, and there's a lot of people who will happily set you right the rest of the way. Then suddenly you find yourself making helpful observations to the next new user... and eventually you roll over the 1000 post mark.

jblnut

Cadet