Hello all you Storage Geeksters

Status
Not open for further replies.
Been toying with the idea of a NAS for awhile but Patrick Norton pushed me over the edge with the DIY Tryin epi Ive got a case and some HDDs just need to find a older processor and some ram for an older motherboard and Ill be swingin from the Tail of this FreeNAS shark

Im a Web Developer, Hosting Provider, Graphic Artist, Drummer and GeekDad I do like to keep busy

Yatti420

Wizard

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Yeah.. Patrick Norton was told by me that his videos are NOT to be used. He never got back to me.

Yeah.. Patrick Norton was told by me that his videos are NOT to be used. He never got back to me.
yeah kinda why I came here because the video sucked and assumed alot on the part of the viewer and really didnt explain what building a NAS entails love the hardware guide it really opened my eyes and made me rethink my NAS plans which are now on hold untill I can get some more cash for batter parts.

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Who's Patrick Norton again?

We know a lot of folks arrive here with plans to build a very inexpensive NAS, and as a consummate cheapskate I fully appreciate the sentiment. Problem is, the cheap hardware introduces cheap hardware problems, and even the expensive hardware often gets it wrong (I love Realtek ethernets on prosumer grade gear!). "Do it once and do it right" works out better in the end for your pocketbook, as hurtful as it might be up front. Also makes for a much more pleasant FreeNAS experience.

cyberjock

Inactive Account