Hardware Recommendations for Intel Server

Status
Not open for further replies.

rmflint

Dabbler
I am new to FreeNAS and ZFS file systems and need recommendations for SAS/SATA controller. The server came with a 6-Bay hot-swap cage and an Adaptec 3405/128MB RAID Controller. If my understanding of FreeNAS and ZFS is correct, I would prefer NOT to use hardware RAID. I would also like to use both SAS and SATA drives if possible since I have a couple of each already. I have seen recommendations on cross flashing the IBM M1015 but am still unsure what the best options would be given my current hardware.

Current Hardware Configuration:

Intel Chassis> SC5299DP
Motherboard> Intel Serverboard s5000XVN/XSL (I believe it is the S5000XSLSATA version)
Drive Cage/Backplane> Intel AXX6DRV3GEXP
RAID Card> Adaptec 3405/128MB

P.s. Is it safe to mix both SAS and SATA drives in the same cage?

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Did you check out our sticky? We make a recommendation for you that is economical and very well supported...

rmflint

Dabbler
Did you check out our sticky? We make a recommendation for you that is economical and very well supported...
Yes, I've scanned through all of the HARDWARE stickies. This did answer my question concerning ZFS software vs hardware level raid but I could not find anything related to my current hardware setup. Can you please be more specific on which thread/sticky you are referring to?

jgreco

Resident Grinch
oh come on guys... that's a bit harsh. he's basically got an old workstation which to me reads as "server grade desktop machine"...

Your LGA771 platform is likely to be fine, assuming it has 8GB or more.

But:

1) it will probablg be madly power-hungry
2) it may be a bit slow
3) if you need to expand the RAM it will probably be ridiculously expensive
4) do NOT use the RAID card; ZFS does that for you