Hard Drive and RAID recommendations

Status
Not open for further replies.

RChadwick

Dabbler
I have an HP Microserver with room for 4 drives. I want it to replace a Windows NAS that has 2TB. I'd obviously like as much space as possible, but redundancy is more important to me. I am VERY new to ZFS, and I'm not sure how to configure the drives. Do I just use 2 drives, and mirror them (What I'm doing now). Do I need a third drive for redundancy data? Is there a way to configure 4 drives in a more useful, and safe way than 2 mirrored VDev's?

TIA

INCSlayer

Contributor

DrKK

FreeNAS Generalissimo
If you have four relatively decent drives, you can configure them in a number of ways that we would find acceptable (let's pretend your drives are 2 TB each):

1) (max space) A single "RAID-Z" vdev, which would give you something like 5TB of space, and you could tolerate losing any one drive.
2) (max safety) A single "RAID-Z2" vdev, which would give you something like 3.5TB of space, and you could tolerate losing any TWO drives at the same time.
3) (max performance) A pair of mirrors (i.e., like a pair of RAID1 as the outside world says it), which would again give you something like 3.5TB of space, and you could tolerate losing one in each pair at the same time, but not both in any one pair. The gain you get for having slightly less robust redundancy is the performance of a pair of mirrors will be much faster (if that's a concern---it probably isn't for most people) than in the RAID-Z2 configuration.

All of these are acceptable configurations.

Well maintained, obeying our recommendations, and so on, option #1 is pretty safe (with, e.g., 2TB WD reds)---it would take an unfortunate confluence of events to lose your pool, and option #2 is watertight, and I cannot imagine any realistic chance of dropping the pool there. Option #3 is between the two.

RChadwick

Dabbler
Thanks DrKK! That was exactly what I wanted to know. Think I'll go with RAID-Z2.