Fundamental installation issue - can only run from fresh install

Status
Not open for further replies.

jontheil

Cadet
I am new to FreeNAS but not to FreeBSD. The last weeks I have been struggling with the installation, and now I need some advice.
My system is a MicroServer GEN8 with 4 x 3 TB WD NAS disks and 10 GB RAM.
I can only install by using two USB keys. I install from a Kingston DataTravaler 111 USB 3.0 into a SanDisk Cruzer Fit USB 2.0 (both on USB 2.0 ports).
Obviously, I have tried a lot of things, and I succeeded in installing 9.3-Release without to many issues. But when I install updates, I can't make it work. I cannot start sshd (I really need that) and I get messages like "
uid 0: exited on signal 11 (core dumped)" all the time.
I think I am doing something completely wrong, but I don't know what.
I can provide a bunch of more details, but I don't know which are relevant until somebody asks for them.
Any kind of help is very much appreciated.

D

dlavigne

uid 0: exited on signal 11 (core dumped)" all the time.

That usually indicates a hardware issue, typically RAM. Try running a memtest.

Also, anything else in /var/log/messages? What is the size of the boot disk?

jontheil

Cadet
Thank you for answering.

I doubt is is related to a RAM issue. The machine is about three weeks old, and the internal system check seems okay. Of course it could be some wrong BIOS setting, but I don't think so.

Right now the installation is fine. Made a fresh install from the latest STABLE image. And I am afraid running into new problems if I try make changes like performing and update. So I haven't got any usable log files. Will remember to copy them if/when I run into problems again.

The boot disk is a SanDisk Cruzer Fit 16 GB.

sremick

Patron
I doubt is is related to a RAM issue. The machine is about three weeks old, and the internal system check seems okay.