How do I install FreeNAS? (NOOB ALERT)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Funlamb

Cadet
My question sounds easy but I am a noob. I don't know what I'm doing wrong.

My system just goes straight into the Console Setup Menu. (1. Configure Network Interface ... 11. Shutdown)
I have set the iso up using windows and FreeNAS' instructions but it pdf glosses over installing the actuall software. From what I have read online (engadget, youtube) FreeNAS needs to be installed but I never get to the option of doing that. Is there something I'm missing? Any help would be appreciated. My setup is below.

Setup:
Flash Drive: 2x SanDisk Cruzer Fit 4GB USB Flash Drive (One for the ISO and one for the OS)
CPU: Intel Xeon E3-1220 V2
MoBo: Supermicro X9SCM-B LGA1155
Ram: 1 x Kingston 8GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
HDD: 2x Western Digital Red NAS Hard Drive
PS: CORSAIR CX series CX600 ( I think I bought a bronze one so I will need to change it is that is true)

Question: What do I need to do to install this on a 4 gig sandisk usb flash drive?

Rand

Guru
Have you actually written the iso to a bootable USB stick or and booted your system from it?

gpsguy

Congratulations on the installation!

If you can see the console menu items 1-11, FreeNAS is installed and running.

If it found an IP address via DHCP, it should be displayed at the bottom of the screen. Open a web browser to that address and configure the server.

Follow the official guide - not some random documentation you found on the web.

Sent from my phone

Funlamb

Cadet
Have you actually written the iso to a bootable USB stick or and booted your system from it?

I wrote the ISO on to one of the USB sticks using Win32DiskImager and yes I have booted my system from it.

Congratulations on the installation!

If you can see the console menu items 1-11, FreeNAS is installed and running.