FTP service configuration

Status
Not open for further replies.

yesyes

Dabbler
Hi. I'm new to FreeNAS. I'm running FreeNAS-9.3-STABLE-201502162250 in a VM on ESXi 5.5. (I've seen the thread that says don't run FreeNAS in a VM in production but I'm willing to take the risks explained there as this is just my "network hard drive" at home.)

I've got 2 mirrored SATA 2TB HDDs on an Adaptec RAID card. These contain a 1.5TB VMware virtual disk which I have then configured as a disk in FreeNAS. On that disk I created 2 volumes (I could have sworn that they were called datasets when I created them, but now I only see them under volumes). Each dataset is configured as a CIFS share.

I don't have an AD server / domain controller so I created users and groups locally on FreeNAS. I have created 3 users and 2 groups. Each of the 2 CIFS shares has its own group. The idea was to later just assign groups to individual users in order to give these users access to the shares individually.

So far this all seems to work fine.

However, now I also want to configure FTP access. This is where I struggle. What I want to achieve is teh same level of access as for the CIFS shares. So user A only has access to share 1. He connects via FTP and is only supposed to have access to the folder that share 1 is located in (and everything underneath). User B (me, the admin) has access to both shares. When that user connects via FTP he should have access to both shares. And User C should only have access to share 2.

I've had this working like this on my old Buffalo Linkstation which I'm now replacing with FreeNAS.

So far I only managed to either give FTP access to everything (the whole file system of the FreeNAS machine) or each user was only able to access their own home folder ("always chroot" option enabled) without being able to share files among different users.

Is what I want to achieve possible to configure on FreeNAS?

yesyes

Dabbler