Fresh install of 9.3 on HP E9180t gets IP from DHCP but no connectivity in or out

Status
Not open for further replies.

jcconnell

Cadet
My fresh install of FreeNAS 9.3 on an HP E9180t has no connectivity, despite receiving an IP address from the DHCP server. I've also tested a static IP with no success.

I'm new to FreeNAS and BSD but I'm comfortable in Linux/OSX command line environments.

The machine can't ping anything else on the network and nothing else on the network can ping the machine. I can't even ping the machine from the gateway/DHCP server (Ubiquiti EdgeRouter Lite).

I'm using a RaLink NIC card because for some reason the NIC on the motherboard is not working.

I would sincerely appreciate some help diagnosing and getting this connected. I've been excited to get this machine working and have been left a little frustrated.

Here are some pictures of the ifconfig and netstat -rn commands: http://imgur.com/a/p0ET6

DrKK

FreeNAS Generalissimo
In the Network->Global Configuration section, try setting your IPv4 gateway (to your router IP or whatever). The symptoms you describe could occur because there is no gateway for egress.

jcconnell

Cadet
I can't access the GUI. I can't ping the machine from any other machine on the network regardless of the subnet. I also can't ping from the machine to any other machine.

My only access is from the local console. From there I've tried configuring a static route, setting the default route to the gateway, setting the DNS to the gateway. Nothing I've done has offered any progress. I wonder if it may be related to my NIC though I'm not sure how to confirm that.

Someone on the FreeNAS subreddit noticed that the media type is not selected in ifconfig.

m0nkey_

MVP
Netstat seems to suggest your network is a /16, is that correct? Also, I'm not sure why you have 0/8 as a route. Sounds to me your DHCP isn't issuing addresses as it should be.

Here's what a working 'netstat -rn' looks like:
Code: