FreeNAS on a HP xw6200

Status
Not open for further replies.

xxtoni

Cadet
Greetings,

This is my first try with FreeNAS so please bear with me.

I've learned of FreeNAS a few years back and wanted to do something with it for quite some time now but because my main business doesn't require a lot of storage I never had the motivation to do so until now. One of my businesses is design and so far we've used external hard drives for our storage needs (both primary storage and backup) and so far we have around 2TB of main data which we host on one drive and use another drive as a backup. The current disks that we have are almost filled up again and I don't really want to buy more external hard drives. I feel it's time to get properly setup in regards to storage.

NAS

I've been thinking about getting a NAS for a year or so because I was worried about our data, most of it is images design work so if we lose we would basically lose al our previous client work. I haven't switched to a NAS so far because the cost always turned me away. Solutions like QNAP seem great but also very expensive and somewhat limited. Recently I've taken a look at Lacie's NAS solution and while the price is acceptable it's also somewhat limited. The Lacie NAS I looked at has 5 disk bays and while that would usually be enough if used with 3TB drives an acquaintance of mine offered me 10x1TB drives at $65 each, which is a great price (I'm not in the U.S.).

My first thought was to build a NAS. Problem is that I can't really find a U2 case anywhere locally and I'd have to buy the motherboard and RAID card on eBay and wait for it to arrive. Looking around the office I remembered an old workstation I had lying around, a HP xw6200 and it occurred to me that I could turn that into a NAS.

The only problem I've encountered so far is that the motherboard on the xw6200 only has 2 SATA ports which isn't nearly enough considering that I want to use 1TB drives, I'd want to connect at least 4-5 drives.