FreeNas Newbie Tackling Encryption

Status
Not open for further replies.

Toadlips

Dabbler
Good afternoon everyone,

I'm brand new to FreeNAS, and encryption is an important feature to me, so I've been doing my due diligence and reading up on it. One thing that concerns me is that any time encryption is mentioned in the forums, it seems to be discouraged so I want to make sure that I have my bases covered and understand the risks.

From what I have read, there are 2 main issues:
  1. The user is responsible for backing up their keys -- the user 0 key as well as the per-drive master keys (using geli backup) minimum. As long as I have a backup of the user 0 key and the per-drive keys, I am set with this requirement, correct? From what I understand, the recovery key isn't required if I have the user 0 key and the geli backups. What's the real benefit of a recovery key?
  2. A corruption in the last sector that holds the metadata (per-drive keys) will cause that disk to be unreadable. I believe that the typical scrubbing and inherent file repair of ZFS should help prevent this, but it is still a possibility. Does this have greater ramifications than a typical drive failure? In other words, will the entire pool fail because one of the keys on one of the drives has been corrupted?
The failed drive workflow in the manual seems strange to me with the "rekeying" and all that. In the event that a drive completely failed, would it be possible to take a new drive and apply the geli restore that corresponds to the failed drive to the new drive. Then, put it in place and let it resilver as if it were the old drive with some bad data? Am I coming out of left field on this?

My main concern is whether or not I'm at significant risk using encryption if I have all of the keys backed up safely.

Thanks!

Bidule0hm

Server Electronics Sorcerer

Toadlips

Dabbler

cyberjock

Inactive Account