Freenas iscsi and VMWare Workstation

Status
Not open for further replies.

drfresh

Dabbler
I'll try to to this as short as possible. I'm very new to iscsi and VMware, I have to say, and in general just an interested technology amateur :smile:.

My setup: HW box with 6*2TB disks running freenas 9.2.1.2. HW Box running Win7 (Core i7 4770K 3.5 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 2*240 GB SSD disks in Raid1 2*GBit/s NICs) with a 1TB "iscsi drive" attached from my FreeNas box as D:\. And I have a Synology DS1813 NAS with some 40 TB storage as well.

On my Win7 box I run a VMware Workstation 10 and have build a couple of VM's (e.g. one running Win7 and others) that have their Virtual Disc on the "iscsi disk" D:\.

In the Win7 VM I get a Windows Experience Index on my disc of 7.6. When I run a LAN Speed Test against my Synology in this Win7 (the VM) I get very good results - up to 800-900 Mbps.

BUT when I try to copy files from the Win7 VM to the Synology I get rates aound 6-7 MB/s! I see my two NICs on the Win7 HW box is only utilized below 25% on the one and below 12.5 % on te other during copying of large files from the Win7 VM to the Synology.

I just don't get it! What am I doing wrong? How should I set up a system using my freenas as the storage for my VM's?

Perhaps this is not a question for this forum but for a VMware forum - if so, please excuse me!

Thanks in advance

cyberjock

Inactive Account
You've just been bit by the 'benchmarks don't reflect reality' bug. In short, because of how ZFS works iSCSI performance depends on a boatload of factors. To get "reasonable performance" you often need to add more RAM than you normally would.

There's tons of examples of people that have your problem or very similar. I'd suggest you search the forums because we've all pretty much stopped answering this question every 3rd day. ;)

c32767a

Patron